Pretty New Year – My Beauty Resolutions for 2012

3 Jan

Happy New Year, readers! I can’t believe it’s already 2012! To be honest, I have no complaints about moving on to this year. I don’t know about you, but I’m in dire need of a fresh start. Do you make any New Year’s resolutions for this year? I’m pretty terrible at keeping resolutions myself, but I figure that if I make them beauty related, that I’ll be more likely to stick to them. (We all know that even if I intend to start working on my fitness, keep my room clean, or improve my math skills, somewhere around February my resolve to do any of those things will peter out.) Are you the same way? If so, here are seven pretty New Year’s resolutions that I’m going to stick with that will be good for me in the long run – some fun, some challenging – and feel free to take them for yourself!

Resolution No. 6: Play with My Hair

Resolution No. 6: Play with My Hair

  1. This may be a little gross, but I have a tendency to pick at my skin, often for no reason (i.e., even if I have no pimples). Sometimes I really can’t help myself. I’ve gotten a lot better at controlling this, but I am going to stop picking, poking, and squeezing this year. I have nice skin! I should leave it alone. (Science fun fact: this is called dermatillomania.)
  2. This is another bad one: I am not great at remembering to take my makeup off before I go to bed. Especially with the advent of so many makeup removal wipes on the market and the fact that I received a limited-edition Clarisonic Mia for my birthday this year, this is inexcusable behavior. (And the more regularly I remove my makeup at night, the better my skin will be – therefore, the less I will have anything to pick at. Good habits beget more good habits!)
  3. Moisturize with more regularity/frequency. I guess the importance of this is especially apparent to me in winter, when parts of my face (I have combination skin) are flaking off like a sfogliatelle and the rest of it is just drier than usual – but my face is the only part of my body that I give any moisturizer love to because of its high visibility. I need to moisturize my whole body ALL the time. I recently read somewhere that I should keep my moisturizer in the shower so I can apply it as soon as I towel off – and I’ve started doing that. I’m pretty forgetful, but this has worked out pretty well so far!
  4. Start an anti-aging skincare regime. I’m in my early twenties, sure, and I am very lucky that my skin is in the shape that it is, but I am getting a little anxious about my skin. I especially need to start taking care of the area around my eyes, my forehead, and around my mouth, because I am highly expressive. Related: I need to find my ultimate everyday SPF facial moisturizer. Recommendations, anyone?
  5. Switch up my beauty routine! I completely love the beauty look I have now, but sometimes I feel like I’ve taken the easy way out and that I’m too comfortable with it. I know there’s the whole adage, “find what works for you and stick with it,” but beauty is an art – and artists should take risks! I wear “crazy” lipstick shades often, but in high school I used to wear bright eyeshadow shades with way more frequency than I do now – I’m going to try to get back into doing that, at least once in a while.
  6. On a related note to the last, I NEVER experiment with my hair. I don’t mean cutting it all off, because I’ve had short hair, long hair, bangs, layers, and everything in between. My hair is ALWAYS straight, however, and I never take the time to curl it or make it wavy, so I want to play with my hair more this year. And I’ve never dyed my hair and I keep thinking about taking the plunge, or at least with semi-permanent dye – is this my year?
  7. Drink more water. You might be thinking this is an easy one, but only in the past year have I started to drink more water. I am really proud of myself about my hydration habits and this year, I’m keeping it up! I drink maybe three or four glasses a day, so I’m going to attempt to up the ante a little bit. It’s so good for the body and the skin – and I get migraine headaches, so I’m hoping that drinking more water will help them.

Okay, everyone – what do you think of my New Year’s beauty resolutions? Am I going to stick with them? Do you have any advice for me to help me keep my resolutions (I would love the help!)? Are there any on here that you are going to try to keep yourself this year?

Thank you so much for reading my blog in 2011. I’ve really appreciated all your visits and comments, and I hope you stop by in 2012!

One Response to “Pretty New Year – My Beauty Resolutions for 2012”

  1. Monique January 7, 2012 at 12:26 PM #

    hahaha! Flake off like a sfogliatelle!

    I’m going to join in as well!

    1. I’m going to co-opt moisturizing all over. I just don’t, because it’s winter and no one is really seeing the back of my arms. Also, I never wanted to spend more money on things like fancy soaps/shower gels/etc because it’s not a true necessity. Luckily, I have been given a small shower gel, moisturizer and loofah for Xmas, so we’re nearing a solution to a resolution here.

    2. I’m pretty good at taking my makeup off before bed! I leave some eyemakeup remover and a mirror next to my bed for when I just can’t wash my face. However, for some reason, I never buy cottonballs. Again, I consider them frippery. Using cheap toilet paper to scrape off mascara probably isn’t helping matters.

    Just buy the freaking cottonballs.

    3. I pick at things way too much. There’s something about ripping off a fingernail, or successfully pulling out a blackhead after much ado, that is comforting. It’s a small battle, won.

    3. I also don’t really experiment with my look, because I worry so much about my clothes and changing them everyday that sitting to do my makeup (red lipstick/small false lashes or Maybelline Falsies/Anna Sui eyebrow powder) is actually relaxing.

    I actually really like how my lips look without red lipstick, but I need a little something more on my eyes or I feel barefaced. Maybe a smoky-type eye with purple and lavender would add a soft prettiness around my eyes, and enable me to venture out without lipstick!

    My use of red lipstick is so rampant that I look sick without it, especially in the lighting at work. Even with blush and lashes, not having red lipstick on causes me to look “incomplete” to my colleagues.

    4. I eat fairly well– I buy fresh juices a couple of times a week. I eat rich food, but it’s not junk. I drink more than enough water and tea a day. However, there are times when I eat out of sheer boredom.

    I got into a snacking habit at work recently. Eating at 1:30 and having dinner at 8:30 lead to as much. In fact, sometimes when I walk in my house, I literally eat the first thing I find and wreck my dinner.

    However, I’ve been eating grapefruits, and they help a LOT to make me feel full! So… eat more fruit when I feel like mindlessly eating. The good-looking staff at Dean and Deluca is more than enough reason to buy fruit.

    5. On some days, I feel downright ugly without makeup. This has lead me to think about irreversible procedures for the first time in my life. Hell, I don’t even wear eyeliner, but I actually thought seriously about a really subtle “lash line fill” tattoo, or if I could get blepharoplasty, or… whatever. In all honesty, maybe I fixate upon these things for the first time in my life because I have bigger worries, and these are small problems.

    I need to remind myself that the face without the makeup is the very same face as the one with the makeup. The makeup just accentuates what I already have, makes my features visible from more than a foot away.

    I actually feel prettiest without makeup when I’m looking at myself up close. It’s from far away that I can’t see myself.

    Thanks for this post! I will be waiting to hear about a decent, yet not over-the-top approach to antiaging in particular.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

