Pink Friday – A Comparison

30 Jan

Happy Monday, readers! I considered waiting until Friday to post this (for semi-obvious reasons), but I have it now, so why put it off?

Nicki Minaj, image via hiphopmvp.com

Nicki Minaj, image via hiphopmvp.com

Having a music degree under my belt, I’m a big fan of music in pretty much all of its forms. It’s pretty cool for me when beauty and music mix, say, in themed collections, but I especially love when a musician collaborates with a beauty brand. So when one of my favorite musicians, Nicki Minaj, rapped about MAC and OPI on Drake‘s “Make Me Proud,” hinting at a collab, I got a little excited. I love a female performer who absolutely gives it her all and doesn’t give a damn if people have a problem with her, whether it’s in the form of her music, foul mouth, or personal style. Nicki Minaj and Lady Gaga both capture this perfectly, or at least in my opinion, without seeming manufactured. (I especially respect Lady Gaga because she writes all of her own music herself; the jury’s still out on Nicki.)

I may have mentioned here on the blog that I stayed up really late with many browsers open on the MAC website in order to get the limited release “Pink Friday” lipstick that MAC and Nicki collaborated on, so when she produced an OPI shade with the same name, I knew it had to be mine.

OPI PInk Friday Nail Polish

OPI Pink Friday Nail Polish

Here’s OPI Pink Friday, after five full days of wear with no topcoat. It’s basically a trooper of a polish. This is only two coats! They’re thick ones, I’ll admit, and I had a little bit of bubbling, but that was my fault for not waiting long enough between coats.

OPI Pink Friday Nail Polish

OPI Pink Friday Nail Polish

If you’re a regular pink polish wearer, which I am not, you’ll probably find that you have similar shades to this one in your collection. This is by no means a unique color – I mean, bubblegum pink? But hoarders know what they want. And it’s the matching set. OR IS IT?!

OPI Pink Friday Nail Polish and MAC Pink Friday Lipstick

OPI Pink Friday Nail Polish and MAC Pink Friday Lipstick

I love matching. Not mani to pedi, because it is no longer 1987, but I’ll often match my lipstick to my pants/shorts/etc. (You can thank J.Crew for this.) Or nails to purse. I get a lot of pleasure out of tracking down the perfectly coordinating color – it’s deeply satisfying. (I once read as an impressionable middle schooler that Posh Spice aka Victoria Beckham matched her nails to her beverages, and this was totally confusing. Even now, I don’t understand it. Anyone willing to clear this up in the comments?) I don’t match my lipstick to my nails, but I DO need to have both of these items. And mostly, because I needed to know if they matched.

It was close, but not quite. The elusive MAC Pink Friday lipstick is bluer and brighter than the polish, which is what makes it so crazy looking (why I don’t wear it often – that, and it’s limited edition and looks exactly like St. Germain).

But when have I ever had a problem with looking crazy?

Pink Friday lipstick and nail polish comparison

MAC Pink Friday lipstick vs. MAC Pink Friday nail polish, headphone earmuffs by Juicy Couture

What do you think? Are you a Nicki Minaj fan? Would you try this nail polish? Or a lipstick like Pink Friday, its sibling, St. Germain? And how do you feel about my completely ridiculous Juicy Couture earmuff headphones?!

One Response to “Pink Friday – A Comparison”

  1. Monique February 3, 2012 at 8:07 PM #

    Cute sweater! Cute earmuffs! Cute girl!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

