Throw Some Glitter, Make It Rain – Deborah Lippmann’s Glitter In The Air

2 Aug

I was excited to start this blog, so I thought I would use a glitter polish for my first nail post. This is Deborah Lippmann‘s Glitter in the Air – a super innovative color. It has a milky blue sheer jelly base with hexagonal pink and blue glitter, smaller silver and pink glitter, and even smaller glowy blue glitter. I love the color, but next time I’ll apply it over another color (perhaps white) as my nails are a little stained from wearing a dark color for over a week.

Deborah Lippmann Glitter in the Air Nail Polish

You can’t deny the appeal of the color, though. I’m not someone who frankens their own polish (makes their own imitations of a product or creates new colors by mixing existing nail polishes), but this one makes me want to try. It reminds me of Funfetti cake, even more than Deborah Lippmann’s Happy Birthday does!

Pros: Really unique color. You’d be hard-pressed to find anything like this by a different company (well, they’ll all be making copies soon)!

Cons: Not the best shade for those of us with stained nails, unfortunately. And the glitter removal process is less than ideal (if you check out this how to I wrote, it might be a little easier on you!), but for those who love glitter, this is pretty irresistible.

Disclosure: I purchased this product (at a discounted price!) at the HBA Expo this year.

5 Responses to “Throw Some Glitter, Make It Rain – Deborah Lippmann’s Glitter In The Air”

  1. Jackie August 3, 2011 at 7:29 AM #

    Have you tried Nicole by OPI with their “perfect stroke brush” polishes? I love the colors (my favorite is an electric-blue glitter) and the polishes are easy to apply because of the brush shape–which is awesome for the uncoordinated like myself. And it lasts several days without chipping, even without a top coat.

    However, it’s a giant pain to remove the glitter polish, I practically have to scrub my nails off. Any recommendations?

    • makeupmaestra August 3, 2011 at 11:46 AM #

      Hi Jackie!

      I actually haven’t tried Nicole by OPI in a long time, but if their brushes are like OPI’s, I’m sure I’d be a huge fan. I can’t wait for the Kardashian Kollection to come out this holiday season! Which shade is it that you use?

      GREAT question about removing glitter polish! I’ll write a post about it 🙂

  2. Monique August 4, 2011 at 11:53 PM #

    Wow! I am not a nail polish girl at all. However, you have totally inspired me to buy this Deborah Lippman nailpolish… because it actually looks like a birthday party on one’s nails. Thanks!

    • makeupmaestra August 6, 2011 at 2:42 PM #

      I’m so glad, Monique! Thanks for visiting my blog! 🙂

Leave a Reply

