Summer Love – Essential Summer Products

4 Aug

The summer, scarily enough, is on its way out. I am completely in denial about this as I have only gone to the beach once, but you can’t argue with the calendar. While you may be packing up for school or bracing yourself for cooler weather (I am SO ready for fall and winter), it’s still awfully hot out – NYC hit 110°F last week! Check out my summer essentials and prevent your own meltdown.

Peter Thomas Roth Instant Mineral Powder, SPF 45

Peter Thomas Roth Instant Mineral Powder, SPF 45

Peter Thomas Roth Instant Mineral Powder, SPF 45

I’ve been using this for years! I’m not the biggest fan of the feeling of sweating off sunscreen, so this is a great alternative to typical sunscreen. It’s also irresistibly portable with a fairly high SPF. I snagged this one from a former employer’s beauty closet, otherwise I would have gone with normal skin.

Goody Spin Pins

Goody Spin Pins

Goody Spin Pins

I’m not a major hair product/tool junkie (because my hair is fairly boring and I seem to have no skill in doing anything with it) but after seeing Karen use these on Makeup and Beauty Blog, I decided to give them a shot. They’re very easy to use – just make a bun or french twist and screw them in! (I actually really only need one with my hair.) Not only are they awesome used with dry hair, they produced some really exciting results when I used them at the beach last weekend. Combined with the salt water, I had WAVES. In my HAIR. My hair refuses to stay curled, so I was enthralled by how naturally wavy it looked. I’ve also gotten them for stocking stuffers and the recipients were major fans.

Shiseido Pureness Mattifying Stick

Shiseido Pureness Mattifying Stick

Shiseido Pureness Mattifying Stick

This is basically like those blotting sheets, but in a tube! Super cool, right? It sucks all the oil out of your face – I use it on the T-zone. It’s also very compact – easy to toss into a purse.

Bobbi Brown beach Sunscreen Body Spray, SPF 15

Bobbi Brown beach Sunscreen Body Spray, SPF 15

Not only does it smell beachy (Bobbi Brown beach fragrance is a bestseller!), it provides you with light SPF coverage so you can get a little bit of color. It’s pretty much a tanning oil, so obviously it’s going to be kind of greasy, but you will feel pretty snazzy using it.

Evian Mineral Water Spray

Evian Mineral Water Spray

Evian Mineral Water Spray

During last summer’s heatwave, I stopped into a Sephora hoping to use the big Evian spray tester and leave (I know, lame). Well, turns out they were on to my little scam, because they had hidden all of the testers. …Which means that I bought some…I am powerless against Sephora. Also an “I feel so luxurious!” product, it will definitely cool you off when you are close to puddle status.

Bronzer

MAC Solar Riche Bronzer and Tarte's Park Avenue Princess Bronzer

MAC Solar Riche Bronzer (L) and Tarte's Park Avenue Princess Bronzer (R)

I present you with several bronzer options, as it’s hard to find a bronzer that looks good and is reasonably priced. My favorite is a limited edition product, MAC‘s Solar Riche. They recently re-released it as part of the Surf Baby collection – I bought mine when it was part of Style Warrior (sick packaging!). I also recommend Rimmel Natural Bronzer in Sun Light (which I unfortunately couldn’t find in my stash, so no photo) and it’s available at drugstores and it’s low on shimmer, which I like. The packaging is kind of sub par (flimsy plastic top), which is a bummer because I love Rimmel products. My third recommendation is Tarte‘s Park Avenue Princess – trendy, bronze faux-croc packaging with a mirror in the compact. Whichever of these bronzers I use, I layer NARS Orgasm blush on top – makes me look ever-so-slightly sunburned, because that’s the only way people will believe I’ve been in the sun!

Urban Decay 24/7 Eyeliner

Urban Decay 24/7 Eyeliner Pencils in Electric and Honey

Urban Decay 24/7 Eyeliner Pencils in Electric (top) and Honey (bottom)

Though I always use black eyeliner (and I’ve been known to dabble with brown), I like using bright colors on the waterline (lower inner lid) during the summer to stand out. I often pick Electric (a bright turquoise) or Honey (a fierce gold). Both have silver microglitter!

Lip Balm

Eos Smooth Sphere Lip Balm and Christian Dior Creme de Rose Smoothing Plumping Lip Balm SPF 10

Eos Smooth Sphere Lip Balm (L) and Christian Dior Creme de Rose Smoothing Plumping Lip Balm, SPF 10 (R)


You definitely need a lip balm with SPF in the summer. I will admit that I only have eos‘s smooth sphere lip balm in Honeysuckle Honeydew (I like it so much I have two!) and that Lemon Drop is the one with SPF 15. I recommend eos highly, though – they smell INCREDIBLE. Portability is kind of awkward if you like keeping stuff in a pocket as it’s a little egg, but it’s fine for a big ‘ol beach bag. I also like to use Dior‘s Creme de Rose Smoothing Plumping Lip Balm – it has SPF 10 – but I have to say that it’s almost EXACTLY the same as Rosebud Lip Salve, just with a bigger price tag and sun protection.

Those are my favorite summer products, though I am always looking for more. What do you use in the summer? Do you wear less or more makeup in warmer weather?

2 Responses to “Summer Love – Essential Summer Products”

  1. opinionated March 2, 2012 at 11:08 PM #

    Why are you so oppinonated? I’m sure you don’t look all that great. How would you like it if people constanly put down what you did? And I’m sure that you do a lot of trends you see out there today that just looks hideous! Just keep your comments to yourself. Just, because you say something is ugly or fake take another look in the mirror honey. NO ONE IS PERFECT! Everyone has their own style and their own taste!

    • makeup maestra March 3, 2012 at 12:28 AM #

      hi opinionated,

      i’m not sure where i’ve said anything is ugly or fake in my blog, but the point of my site is to express or share my point of view, style, and ideas with anyone interested in reading. i’ll never claim that my point of view is the best one – it’s just my unique perspective. and of course i follow terrible trends, did you not see my headphone earmuffs? 🙂 but to my recollection, i haven’t bashed people on this blog, and if i have, i’d like to know where – i’d be happy to address it.

      i’m glad you’re as opinionated as i am! the freedom to voice your opinion is what is wonderful about this country. (that’s why i enjoy writing.) however, i only welcome positive, friendly, constructive comments on my blog. no one has to agree with my points of view, and i am happy to have visitors to my blog that disagree with me, but i would appreciate a modicum of propriety from my guests. i don’t believe it’s too much to ask for, but anyone who can’t behave in a mature, respectful way will be blocked.

      thanks for stopping by and reading my blog! i hope you can find a post you like here, learn something new – and who knows, maybe we’ll even end up sharing the same opinion on something. 🙂

      – emily

Leave a Reply

