That Girl Is So Dangerous – MAC Lady Danger Lipstick

11 Aug

Good afternoon, gang! It feels like Friday to me today for some odd reason – just one more day!

After yesterday’s post featuring red lipstick, I thought I’d tell you about the one I wore yesterday – MAC Lady Danger.

MAC Lady Danger Lipstick

MAC Lady Danger Lipstick

As I’ve explained, I really enjoy bright, unusual, and eye-catching shades of lipstick. If you’re looking for showstopping red lips, this is a great option! Of all my lipstick shades, I would say that this is in my top five of the being asked “what lipstick are you wearing?” category. I know in the picture that it appears orange, but I promise it is not (I have other options for you). MAC describes it as  “a vivid bright coral-red,” which I would not agree with. If you’ve seen beads made out of cinnabar, that would be a serious match, but if you’re unfamiliar, think of a nearly ripe tomato. If you’re looking to get into the orange lipstick trend that has been oh-so-popular, this is a great way to ease yourself into it if you’re not ready to paint your lips the color of a traffic cone. There is nothing subtle about this lipstick, which is exactly why I like it.

Pros: Great, heavy pigmentation. It’s a matte shade (no shimmer or glossy appearance), which is one of my favorites. And just because matte has historically been a drying finish doesn’t mean this one will dry you out – I’ve found that MAC produces mattes that apply smoothly – like buttah! A few other brands I’ve tried have matte lipsticks that are so devoid of moisture that it’s like putting chalk on your lips. Gross. I’ve also found that it generally wears evenly, even through eating.

Cons: Like most matte reds, once it’s on, it’s staying on. Most people look for that in a lipstick, which is totally reasonable, but that also means that if you apply a little crookedly, it’s going to take a lot more than a tissue to fix your error. (Tip: remove as much as you can and then apply a concealer over it with a concealer brush or q-tip.) My only other complaint is that this color is not that innovative. If you’re all about red lipstick and hoard them like I hoard all beauty products – sigh – then you might have something comparable in your collection. Double check!

Lady Danger looks great all year round, but I especially love her in the summer. (P.S. This lipstick looks great with Nantucket Red shorts!) However, she’ll carry over well into autumn as well – red lipstick is a major trend for fall. Check her out here on MAC‘s official website.

Me Wearing MAC Lady Danger Lipstick

Me wearing MAC Lady Danger lipstick

Do you have MAC Lady Danger? Is it one of your must-haves? Or do you have a dupe for it in your own lipstick stash? Tell me in the comments!

Leave a Reply

