Sweet Escape: Essie Splash of Grenadine

15 Aug

Good morning! Tri-state area readers – WHAT is with this monsoon? I’m not sure if this is the case for you, but this rain is really cramping my style. It makes it difficult to get around, messes with my hair, and keeps me from taking decent pictures for the blog. Also, I have a dog who barks at the slightest noise and a cat afraid of thunderstorms, so that, too, was fun this weekend.

ANYWAY – I was loving the duochrome polish I had on this past week (in dim lighting indoors, it really looked like mother-of-pearl!), but all good things must come to an end. Since summer is one of those good things, and its days are numbered, I knew I needed to get in one of my favorite warm-weather manicure colors before it was too late.

Essie‘s Splash of Grenadine came out last spring/summer. With a name like that, I would expect a syrupy, sheer red glaze of a nail polish. Right?

Essie Splash of Grenadine Nail Polish

Essie Splash of Grenadine Nail Polish

Wrong. This is a somewhat sheer shade of orchid. Despite the misleading name, I absolutely love this polish. It’s also a great pedicure color. This is four coats, but if transparency is a quality you admire in a manicure (I prefer this attribute in people than in my beauty products), you can try two or three.

Pros: I infrequently do “typical” manicure shades, as I’ve mentioned in the past – this offbeat blend of pink and purple is different enough to hold my interest. I also found that the formula was reasonably easy to apply (Essie is hit or miss in this arena).

Cons: I like OPI and Essie for their clever product titles – the name of this one was off the mark and misleading. It was part of a collection named after beaches and islands – Essie Resort Collection – so I get why they did it, but…grenadine is red!!!

You should still be able to find this color pretty easily in stores, including Target and Harmon Beauty.

What do you think of this shade? Do you have it? Are you as big of a fan as I am?

Leave a Reply

