My First (Not My Last), My Everything – MAC Snob Lipstick

16 Aug

It’s the home stretch, readers! You’ll be on your way to a happy hour in no time. Just a few more hours left of work to go!

MAC Snob Lipstick

MAC Snob Lipstick

Everyone remembers their “first” for a lot of things – first crush, first kiss, first car, first apartment – you get the picture. Today, I’d like to share my first MAC purchase. For many makeup-crazies, this is an equivalent to a first love. Ever since I bought MAC Snob lipstick, I’ve been handing out money to various MAC stores like I’m dealing cards in Vegas. It’s totally disturbing, expensive, and compulsive, but I honestly wouldn’t have it any other way.

I remember being in grade school when I passed by a MAC counter and saw Electric Eel eyeshadow for the first time. It’s a vivid turquoise – ridiculously pigmented and eye-catching. “Mom! Look at that!” I tugged on my mother’s sleeve. “That color is crazy,” she said, and we kept going. MAC opened my eyes to the world of “crazy” beauty products and shades. Discovering that there were other people like me, who loved unusual makeup, was comforting. I didn’t start wearing makeup until middle school and by then, MAC had been pushed to the back of my mind. I received MAC lipglasses one year for the holidays from a friend, but it wasn’t until college that I bought something from MAC on my own. (Yeah, I’ve always been a late bloomer.)

In 2007, Lancôme released a collaboration lipstick with Proenza Schouler known as Proenza Pink. When I realized there was no chance I could ever get my hands on a tube, I was crushed. Desperate to find an acceptable substitute, I scanned the internet. I believe it was Specktra that told me Snob was a close match.

Me wearing MAC Snob Lipstick

Me wearing MAC Snob Lipstick

This lipstick changed my life and my attitude. Last week, I talked about how some men react to cosmetics. This one gets tons of comments from both genders, positive and negative. It’s one of those colors that I like to call “almost normal,” which is my favorite kind of color – it makes people do a double take when they see it. As a result, “that lipstick is really…pink,” is the one I find that I receive the most. And it is. It’s a ballerina pink with a touch of lilac and a wonderful satin finish – which, in my opinion, is MAC’s best lipstick finish. This was the first lipstick to make me realize that I don’t have to speak to make a statement. From here I bought lipsticks like NARSSchiap, a screaming hot pink, and MAC Morange, a shade that I like to think of as “construction ahead orange.” People will stare and make comments if you wear colors like this, but who cares? If you can’t get over what people think about you, you will never be able to live your life the way that you want.

Thanks, Snob. Besides emptying my wallet, you helped open my mind. If you don’t have it yet, buy MAC Snob here – you won’t regret your purchase. You can also find it in most Macy’s stores, Saks, Neiman Marcus, Bergdorf’s, Bloomingdales, Lord and Taylor…

Crazy author’s note: I thought I lost this product today – and, as a result, spent 45 minutes hysterically looking for it. I knew my day would be ruined if it were truly lost. Come on! It’s my first MAC purchase.

Who out there is a MAC Snob fan?! Has a beauty product ever changed your life like Snob changed mine? Tell me in the comments!

Leave a Reply

