Sally Hansen Complete Salon Manicure in Black Platinum

17 Aug

Hey guys! So I don’t think I’ve mentioned it on here, just on Twitter, but I’m going to a Ke$ha concert this weekend! I’m super excited – the tickets were cheap and her music is a lot of fun. LMFAO is opening, so that’s awesome (who doesn’t like “Party Rock Anthem?”) too. I have some crazy makeup planned for the weekend, but I wanted to get started on my nails. This is not the complete look – there’s so much more to come – I just painted the base color on. I have to say – I’m not a major black nail polish person, but Sally Hansen Complete Salon Manicure in Black Platinum is a little different.

Sally Hansen Complete Salon Manicure in Black Platinum

Sally Hansen Complete Salon Manicure in Black Platinum

My aunt got this one for me around the holidays and for some reason, I haven’t gotten around to trying it since then. (The curse of a beauty product hoarder.) It’s not straight black, otherwise I wouldn’t be drawn to it. It’s almost a graphite or a charcoal due to the silver shimmer.

Pros: I love the Sally Hansen Complete Salon Manicure brushes. They’re kind of like spatulas with rounded edges, which really helps you apply the polish perfectly. The line has some great shades, including designer collaborations with Tracy Reese, and a lot of them are pretty unique or prestige brand imitations.

Cons: With this one, I expected that it would go on darkly because it has a black base. This took three coats and could use a fourth, which I don’t like in dark shades. The drying time was also not that quick, and I experienced some bubbling (which could be due to my impatience to reach opacity).

Despite the slight troubles I had with this one, I’ll definitely wear it again – I see it as a great alternative to pure black and will make a lovely base shade for my wackier creations. You can buy it here at drugstore.com. I’ll post more pictures as I update my manicure for the concert! Do you have this one? What are your thoughts on it?

Leave a Reply

