OPI Sparkle-icious

18 Aug

Okay, I know this is part of my Ke$ha manicure, but I can’t be alone in thinking this – who else thought of Fergie’s song “Fergalicious” when they read the title of this post? I’ve had it stuck in my head all day.

OPI Sparkle-icious was a member of the 2010 holiday collection/Burlesque collection, and like many colors in my stash, I haven’t used it since I discovered it in my stocking last December. Which is a darn shame – this polish is fabulous!

It’s small glitter – gold, fuschia, and blue – suspended in a clear base. Gold seems to be the primary color, and while I didn’t try to reach opacity, I think it’d need at least four coats to do so. I have it on over Sally Hansen Complete Salon Manicure in Black Platinum, which looks pretty snazzy in my opinion. I had been planning on adding another step to my Ke$ha manicure, but now I’m not sure – I think it looks pretty good like this.

OPI Sparkle-icious Nail Polish

OPI Sparkle-icious Nail Polish

What do you think?

Pros: OPI Sparkle-icious doesn’t give a gritty feel to the nail like many glitter polishes do. I added Seche Vite on top just because it’ll make the glitter even more ostentatious, but my nails didn’t totally need it. I bought this as a substitute to Rescue Beauty Lounge‘s glitter shades, and while I don’t have any, I think this is a pretty adequate replacement.

Cons: The glitter doesn’t apply in a particularly even way, but that’s rare in a glitter. Minor complaint.

Here’s another shot so you can see the glitter more closely.

OPI Sparkle-icious Polish closeup

OPI Sparkle-icious Polish closeup

What do you think of this polish? And most importantly, readers, I’d like your input: should I add a silver or gold crackle on top of this? Or leave it as is? I can’t decide what would be more Ke$ha-esque.

Leave a Reply

