Revlon Nail Enamel in Blue Lagoon

22 Aug

Hey guys! Hope you’ve had a less-than-manic Monday thus far. I’ve been feeling kind of blue lately, so after taking off my glittery Ke$ha manicure, I went for a walk to my local drugstores to check out my options.

And came back with a blue nail polish.

Revlon Nail Enamel in Blue Lagoon

Revlon Nail Enamel in Blue Lagoon

To be fair, I’d had my eye on Revlon‘s Blue Lagoon for a while. It looks like it’s similar to Chanel Riva, a limited edition color that intrigued me, but wasn’t fabulous enough to get me to open my wallet for it. I don’t have any colors like this – blue is not one of my polish go-to shades – so I knew that I needed to check it out. The verdict?

Pros: The color is pretty unique and I definitely didn’t have any like it. It’s a pale sky blue with teeny tiny sparkles. It’s a great summer shade (another reason I picked it up)! If you’re a fan of Revlon’s Chanel dupes, this is one.

Cons: I found the polish to have an odd consistency – thick, but still runny. It wasn’t the easiest to apply, but I got away with three coats. I also experienced some slight bubbling, which was disappointing. It also definitely needs a top coat of Seche. However, I’m usually willing to put up with crummy application for a unique shade.

Blue Lagoon is limited edition, so if you can still find it, check it out. I just got mine at Rite Aid, but I’ve seen them in some Duane Reades and at CVS. It also seems that drugstore.com still has it in stock!

What do you think? Are you a fan of blue nail polish?

2 Responses to “Revlon Nail Enamel in Blue Lagoon”

  1. Erma August 22, 2011 at 9:57 PM #

    I’m not a fan of blue nails, but this is really pretty! Sort of a robin’s egg-Tiffany blue on my BB. Any suggestions for a bullet-proof top coat?? I always use Seche, but my polish chips the next day, no matter what. I’m sick of it!!

    • makeup maestra August 22, 2011 at 11:21 PM #

      What are you doing with your hands?! I’ve never really had a problem with Seche, but try Poshe – it’s the other industry standard. Before using Seche, I used Revlon’s topcoat and really liked it!

Leave a Reply

