We R Who We R – Ke$ha Concert Beauty Breakdown, Part 1 (Trailer Trash Chic)

22 Aug

Hey, everyone! I hope you had a fabulous weekend – and that you stayed dry! The weather has been a serious bummer, but luckily, it didn’t totally rain on my parade these past few days. I was fortunate enough to go to a Ke$ha concert this weekend with a friend of mine from college at Jones Beach! I was so psyched to do my makeup for this concert, and ended up doing my friend Katie’s makeup too, so I got to try out two different Ke$ha-inspired looks.

When I think of Ke$ha, lots of different things come to mind. Glitter, for one. Lots of glitter. (At one point during the performance, she said, “I’M NOT WEARING ENOUGH GLITTER!” and someone came out from backstage to apply more.) Grimy, grungy, and trashy all apply, too, though not in a bad way. Katie said I looked like “classy trailer trash,” which I couldn’t have said better myself. When putting on my eyeshadow, I realized that it was starting to look a little Jersey Shore – and I was terrified that I kind of liked it. There’s nothing subtle about what I did with my makeup. Nothing. See for yourself.

Ke$ha Concert Makeup

Ke$ha Concert Makeup!

Here’s another picture where I’m looking down, so you can see the eye makeup better.

Ke$ha Concert Makeup

Ke$ha Concert Makeup, looking down (and sort of suspicious)

I know, seriously intense. I also know that I’ve said strong eye OR strong lip and never both, but this is show makeup – those rules don’t apply for performances, Halloween, or anything like that.

So what did I use? (At the time, I felt as if there was nothing I didn’t use.)

I started with a clean, moisturized face, curled my eyelashes, put on my L’Oreal True Match Foundation, and then applied Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion. I’ve said in the past that it’s not my favorite, but unlike my beloved Painterly, UDPP is great to use with creamy products. I then smeared MAC Shadestick in Sharkskin on the whole lid, past the crease but not to the browbone. (This product has since been discontinued, but you can try MAC Paint Pot in Blackground – it’s the same idea, and that way you can eliminate using a primer.) Warning: you will be terrified by how much makeup you have on once you complete this step, and this is just the beginning. Ride out the fear!

I then buffed out the edges of the shadestick using my Bobbi Brown Eye Smudge brush. (I don’t use brushes that often, but when it comes to precision, I’ll make an exception.) After this, I dug out a bottle of Visine (the kind that helps with redness) and used it to moisten my brush. For some reason, Visine helps shadows and pigments, especially glittery or shimmery ones, really stick on. I like using shadows wet because it intensifies the shade, but make sure whatever product you try this trick with is wet/dry – I’ve ruined more than a few eyeshadow pans with water.

The first shadow I used was Urban Decay Baked – I applied it to a third of my lid, starting from the inner corner of the eye. I also used it carefully on my lower lid. (If you don’t have the Naked Palette yet, this color is in it and is just one great excuse for the palette purchase!) I made sure that the color was the most intense at the inner corner and faded out into the rest of the lid. Using the same brush with more Visine, I added MAC Solar Bits Pigment in Black Ore, starting where I had left off with Baked, around a third of the way in. This product was limited edition – and kind of difficult to work with if you’re not adding Visine. I’ve never really seen anything else like it, but if I hadn’t used this, I probably would have used NARS Night Series Eyeshadow in Night Clubbing instead.

I lined my waterline (top and bottom) with black eyeliner – you already know that I use Urban Decay 24/7 in Zero, but it’s up to you. This is around the point in my look that I realized I don’t have a legitimate black liquid liner, and became angry with myself. I would have used normal black liquid liner if I had one on hand, but I used a limited edition product from a few holidays ago, Victoria’s Secret Heidi Klum Collection Glitter Liner in Licorice. It’s black with green and gold glitter – and not the best quality to be honest. Lots of people make glitter eyeliner if you want to try one; Urban Decay’s is seriously sparkly. I finished with way too much mascara and added extra glitter to the tips of my lashes.

Close up on my eye

Closeup on my eye! (Yes, I wear contacts.)

From here, I added bronzer – MAC‘s Solar Riche, but any bronzer you have will do – to contour my cheekbones, chin, and nose, and a light dusting of NARS Orgasm blush.

Deciding what lipstick to wear was a hard decision. I tried a VERY fair nude, but didn’t like how that looked and MAC St. Germain seemed a little bit overwhelming for the occasion. In the end, I had my friend Katie pick. “I feel like you need something red with that leopard top and dark eyeshadow,” she said, “to complete your trashy look.” I went with Tarte‘s Natural Lip Tint in Lust, though when I got to the concert I wished that I’d brought my MAC Peacocky blue lipgloss – Ke$ha was wearing her signature blue lips! I really didn’t want to leave the house ‘without my lips on,’ and I have a pretty strict “don’t leave the house with a limited edition MAC product” policy, so red lip stain it was. A syrupy red lipgloss would be great too. Or bronze! Which I didn’t think of last night.

Ke$ha Makeup

The final look!

All in all, I’m pretty pleased with how this came out. What do you guys think? Stay tuned for the makeup I used on my friend Katie, whose look was inspired by the concept of a glitter unicorn. No, I’m not kidding.

What did you do this weekend? Was glitter involved? Or umbrellas?

2 Responses to “We R Who We R – Ke$ha Concert Beauty Breakdown, Part 1 (Trailer Trash Chic)”

  1. Monique August 22, 2011 at 11:36 PM #

    I actually don’t think it looks like “too much makeup” at all! The phase “too much makeup” conjures up either bad or out of context makeup,in my opinion. You look nothing but beautiful here, and I barely notice the makeup!

    • makeup maestra August 23, 2011 at 12:03 AM #

      thanks so much! i really appreciate it. i might start wearing more eyeshadow than i’m used to – it was a lot of fun 🙂

Leave a Reply

