OPI Suzi Skis in the Pyrenees

26 Aug

Hey everyone! Are you battening down the hatches for the hurricane? I’m kind of skeptical about it, to be honest, but it must be a big deal if NYC’s MTA is shutting down tomorrow…

I have another weather-appropriate manicure for you guys today. The shrinkage on yesterday’s manicure was bugging me, so I changed polishes.

OPI Suzi Skis in the Pyrenees

OPI Suzi Skis in the Pyrenees nail polish

OPI Suzi Skis in the Pyrenees is a very dark slate – almost black – with a subtle shimmer. I love this color – it’s just like a stormy sky!

Pros: It’s almost absurdly flattering on everyone I’ve seen wear it. I’ve never seen another shade like it, and I love unique colors.

Cons: Not sure if my batch was weird, but it applied oddly (dried smoothly though!) – with almost no pigment at first. It was even after three coats, which is my standard number, so no complaints there.

OPI Suzi Skis in the Pyrenees was part of their fall Spain collection from 2009 (a stellar group of shades, in my opinion), but you can still find it here on drugstore.com and at beauty supply stores.

Stay safe this weekend, readers! Do you have to evacuate where you are?

6 Responses to “OPI Suzi Skis in the Pyrenees”

  1. Monique August 26, 2011 at 6:37 PM #

    I have a hard time trusting the
    Government on these things. The cynic in me believes bloomberg is covering his ass. One of the criticisms I hear about him is that he can’t handle emergencies (snowgate).

  2. Monique August 26, 2011 at 6:39 PM #

    It’s really hit or miss. You can’t know until it’s here, honestly, and the reports seem to be shifting. I have a suitcase ready anyway.

  3. kat August 28, 2011 at 8:45 PM #

    Those colors are so perfect for fall! πŸ™‚

    • makeup maestra August 29, 2011 at 2:28 PM #

      hey kat! thanks for stopping by πŸ™‚ i like your blog – i’m very into food so i’ll be checking your page out regularly! πŸ™‚

  4. Sara September 1, 2011 at 1:19 AM #

    happy with today’s purchase! it’s a snazzy color and it looks pretty good on my super short nails. I also took your advice and moisturized my hands and cuticles this evening (and yes I tried olive oil). not for nothing, this did take a lot of coats (that’s FOUR for me) to get completely opaque but now it’s nice and dark and smooth (and with nails as small as mine, that’s not a lot of polish anyhow)

    thanks for the recommendation and for the nice afternoon πŸ™‚

    • makeup maestra September 1, 2011 at 2:35 PM #

      anytime! i had a great time too. i can imagine that applying polish to your nails goes pretty quickly – did you do four thin coats or thick coats? and did the first few go on kind of oddly like mine? but i’m glad you liked the polish!

Leave a Reply

