Product Spotlight: NARS Soft Touch Shadow Pencil in Skorpios

29 Aug

Hey everyone! I hope the hurricane didn’t hit you too hard – I didn’t have any electricity until this afternoon, so I’m glad I set the how-to up to post for this morning! I have a product that I bought a few weeks ago at Sephora in this post, and it’s something that I wouldn’t ordinarily buy.

Nars Soft Touch Shadow Pencil in Skorpios

Nars Soft Touch Shadow Pencil in Skorpios

Cream eyeshadows aren’t really my thing – I find that they’re generally not as pigmented as powder shadows are and that they tend to move around, which is a major pet peeve. But I couldn’t resist NARS Soft Touch Shadow Pencil in Skorpios! I’m a sucker for many NARS products, but this one I tried on a whim. I don’t wear colors like this often on my eyes (Skorpios is a rose gold/bronze shade) and now I’m seeing the error of my ways. This hue is seriously flattering. My eyes are brown, and I’ve found that most people with brown eyes wish that they were any other color, myself included. Skorpios made my brown eyes look greener than usual and brightened up the eye overall.

NARS Skorpios on me

Me wearing NARS Skorpios Soft Touch Shadow Pencil

When I purchased this product at Sephora, I asked the SA if she thought that the shadow would crease (shift and build up in the crease of the eyelid) over time. She insisted it wouldn’t with a primer. Because of how heavily pigmented, blendable and pretty Skorpios was, I decided to believe her and shell out what I thought was way too much money, $24. I’ve tried it with two primers, and unfortunately, it failed my crease test. It moved after just a few hours. I’m hoping that once the weather cools off that the wear time will improve. I’m sure that under a shadow, Skorpios would stick around a little longer, but the whole point is to not cover up the beauty of the shade! Sigh. Here’s a closer look:

NARS Skorpios, closer look

A closer look at NARS Skorpios

Unfortunately, I wouldn’t repurchase this product, but I will certainly use it until I find a better alternative because of how pretty it is. If you’d like to try it anyway (maybe you have really dry skin and live in a dry climate!), you can find it here at Sephora or here on NARS‘ site.

What do you think? Do you have this product and have qualms like I do? Can you recommend any other rose-gold shadows that you believe I’d go crazy over?

Leave a Reply

