OPI Ski Teal We Drop

30 Aug

Hey readers! It’s such a nice afternoon here in New York City – I hope it is wherever you are!

I’ve made my opinion on fall perfectly clear – it needs to get here stat. It feels like the weather is starting to cool off somewhat (or maybe that’s just psychosomatic on my part), so I’ve started to bust out the fall nail shades! The one I’m sharing with you today is one of my favorite nail polishes of all time, so I’ve mentioned it on the blog before in my top ten favorite nail polishes post.

OPI Ski Teal We Drop nail polish

OPI Ski Teal We Drop nail polish

OPI Ski Teal We Drop is a beautiful teal creme that looks wonderful against my pale skin, but I can see it looking fabulous against any skin tones. It pairs as well with the rich fabrics of fall as it does with denim, which makes me curious…could it be a dupe for Les Jeans de Chanel?

Les Jeans de Chanel

Les Jeans de Chanel polishes, picture courtesy of temptalia.com

In the first picture, Ski Teal We Drop takes on such a strong green cast that I didn’t think it was likely. But on the nail, it’s far more blue.

OPI Ski Teal We Drop swatch

OPI Ski Teal We Drop swatch, direct sunlight

There were no swatches of Les Jeans de Chanel available when I wrote this post, but it looks like that Ski Teal We Drop could be a possible dupe for Chanel‘s Blue Rebel. Peter Philips and Chanel have created some awesome, lustworthy nail polish shades in the past (I am still furious at myself for missing out on Jade), and I own a few bottles myself – but I’ve found the quality of the nail polish to be embarrassingly poor. Sure, it’s a great way to get in on the designer action, but I expect no chipping in the first few days of wear for a price tag of $25. I won’t be buying any of Les Jeans de Chanel – not just because of the poor formula quality, but because the colors aren’t terribly innovative this time around.

But Chanel isn’t who is on trial in this post – it’s OPI Ski Teal We Drop!

Pros: I have practically no complaints about this polish. It’s nearly a one-coater, but I did two. Dries beautifully, the color is unique in my collection, and is shiny without a topcoat!

Cons: My only gripe would be that if you leave it on too long (because it doesn’t chip easily), it can stain your nails – I seem to have the most trouble with blues/greens and discoloration. I really wouldn’t recommend leaving it on for more than a week.

OPI Ski Teal We Drop nail polish

OPI Ski Teal We Drop nail polish swatch, indirect sunlight

Though this nail polish came out last year in OPI‘s Swiss Collection, they must have made it permanent as it’s available to “try on” on their website. You can also get it here on drugstore.com (they show the wrong polish in the picture there – don’t worry, it’s frost-free)!

Do you have this one? (If you don’t, I recommend you pick it up!) What do you think – is it a dupe?

3 Responses to “OPI Ski Teal We Drop”

  1. sara September 3, 2011 at 11:48 PM #

    Tried my first crackle this evening (a black one over a beige polish). Feelin’ trendy 🙂

    • makeup maestra September 4, 2011 at 5:36 PM #

      yay!!! what products did you use?!

      • Sara September 5, 2011 at 9:37 PM #

        Sally Hansen Ink Splatter
        and
        Rimmel Steel Grey

        not bad. almost looks like an animal print.

Leave a Reply

