(Drop Dead) Beautiful – Dolce and Gabbana Classic Cream Lipstick in Amethyst

21 Sep

Call me shallow, but I’m a sucker for looks.

Isn’t that how human beings work? Isn’t natural selection based on seeking out desirable traits?

Honestly, though, I don’t think Darwin had me and Dolce and Gabbana in mind…

Dolce and Gabbana lipstick tube

Dolce and Gabbana lipstick tube

Dolce & Gabbana has some seriously hot packaging going on. There’s a nice amount of weight to the shiny gold tube, giving the product the luxurious feel it should have for a $30 lipstick. The metal is engraved, but it doesn’t stop there…

Dolce and Gabbana Amethyst lipstick

Dolce and Gabbana Amethyst lipstick

Stamping the lipstick bullet with the brand logo has become almost commonplace among prestige brands – I believe Chanel was the first to do it, and then Urban Decay, Dolce and Gabbana, Burberry and other companies started following them like trendy little sheep. Even though it’s nothing too special, I still value it.

It may be clear to you by now that I’m a sucker for packaging – a majorly minor detail that I absolutely love is the box. These are the little things that I look for and cherish. Check it out:

Dolce and Gabbana lipstick box

Dolce and Gabbana lipstick box

The exterior of the box has a glossy black finish with gold writing – the interior of the box has a glossy gold finish. You have no idea – these are the things I live for. When I bought this product, I actually said out loud, “please have a contrasting interior!” as I opened it (I am sick). MAC will do this kind of thing once in a while with limited edition releases. My personal favorite was the Heatherette collection – hot pink boxes, matte black interior! Argh!

Moving along…

So I may have started this post out in a rather vain fashion, but I’m not all about appearances…it’s really what’s on the inside that counts. This is true of men and makeup, okay? We all forget this from time to time…it can’t be helped.

Luckily Dolce and Gabbana Cream Lipstick in Amethyst is Patrick Dempsey in the movie Enchanted (yeah, I know) – dark and brooding, but really pretty wonderful when it comes down to it. And absolutely PERFECT for fall (though I imagine Patrick – Patrick, can I call you that? – would be perfect all year round).

Dolce and Gabbana Classic Cream Lipstick in Amethyst

Me wearing Dolce and Gabbana Classic Cream Lipstick in Amethyst

The deep burgundy/bordeaux color is strikingly similar to Essie Wicked nail polish, which you already know I like. Since it’s a cream lipstick, Amethyst is not as drying as I thought it would be, but it’s not particularly moisturizing either. As a result, it lasts for at least six hours and wears incredibly evenly. It also leaves a stark line of lipstick on your inner lip – hard to explain, but not the biggest deal.

Clearly I’m wearing next to no makeup in this picture (stressful moment for me), so you can see how truly pale I am – but I think this lipstick is pretty flattering! My teeth look particularly great (though I did get a cleaning recently – thanks, Dr. G!). I think it would look wonderful on medium and darker skin tones as well. You can find Dolce and Gabbana beauty products, including Classic Cream Lipstick in Amethyst, exclusively at Saks Fifth Avenue.

Leave a Reply

