MAC Mattene Lipstick – Potent Fig

3 Oct

Happy Monday, readers! Can you feel it? It’s really fall outside! That’s my favorite part about my birthday – it truly kicks summer to the curb and brings the crisp autumn weather out from wherever it’s been hiding.

The gifts help, too.

To share with you today, I have one of the many beauty-related birthday presents I received last week – MAC Mattene in Potent Fig. Mattene lipsticks are part of the Posh Paradise collection and are limited edition, so if any of the colors I show on the blog intrigue you, snap them up. I had a few in high school and I have to say – MAC really improved the formula. These are much smoother, creamier, and moisturizing than they used to be. As a matte lipstick, they’re still drying, but they last a long time without making the wearer suffer, which is something to celebrate.

MAC Potent Fig Mattene Lipstick

MAC Potent Fig Mattene Lipstick

I have been on the search for the perfect purple cream lipstick for a while now. You know, something that shouts “purple!” without looking like I chugged a bottle of wine or have joined any covens. And I mean a true purple – no burgundy, no wine, no mauve – so while it’s a lovely shade, Dolce and Gabbana Amethyst is out of the running. I have my lilacs and lavenders covered for the most part, but a true purple has been missing from my collection.

MAC Potent Fig Mattene Lipstick

Me wearing MAC Potent Fig Mattene Lipstick

I am sorry to report that while this is a very pretty color, it is not for me – or at least not for regular wear. Not only does this Mattene make me look like I’m on trial in Salem, Massachusetts circa 1692, Potent Fig doesn’t boast the fabulous ease of application that its release siblings do. I had no troubles with the other Mattene shades I received, but this one didn’t didn’t apply nearly as evenly or smoothly.

That’s not to say that someone out there somewhere won’t like Potent Fig. I didn’t hate this! Because I promise, I’ll let you know if I hate something. It’s just not what I wanted out of the product. If you have a darker skintone, I’m sure this lipstick will look much better on you (if you don’t mind the application issues of this particular color too much). It did leave a very pretty stain after I wiped it off, as all the Mattenes have. And it’d be wonderful for many Halloween costumes (but not mine…I’ll let you know soon)!

My search for the perfect creamy purple continues…

You can find MAC Mattene lipsticks, including Potent Fig, here for a limited time. What do you think of this color? Do you know of any purple lipstick shades that I might like? Please let me know in the comments!

One Response to “MAC Mattene Lipstick – Potent Fig”

  1. Monique October 9, 2011 at 8:55 PM #

    That’s kind of a weird one.

Leave a Reply

