How To: Fix Stained Nails

5 Oct

Hey everyone!

I may not have mentioned this on the blog, but I’m going to be in my friend’s wedding this weekend! I’m very, very excited and honored to be a part of her special day – and not only am I a bridesmaid, but I’m doing her makeup as well! I’ll be sure to post pictures once I get them, and also to tell you what products I used.

We’re all wearing matching manicures for the wedding (swatches will go up later in the week) but because the polish is a pastel, I had to be very careful about not wearing dark – or my nails’ personal kryptonite, blue and green – polishes for extended periods of time, even with a base coat.

Even though I was careful, I still have some residual staining from the summer. It’s not all bad though – you guys get a how-to!

What you need:

  • Small glass or stainless steel bowl
  • Hydrogen peroxide
  • Baking soda

That’s all you need! Pour enough hydrogen peroxide into the bowl so that you’ll be able to cover your nails, then add two tablespoons of baking soda. Blend well. (If you’re making a day at the spa for yourself, you could add some essential oils if you have them, because this blend definitely doesn’t smell all that hot.)

Ms Manicure Block Party 4-Way Buff Block

Ms Manicure Block Party 4-Way Buff Block (kaboodle.com)

Now sit there for at least fifteen minutes per hand. This definitely works! – but if your nails looked anything like mine, they will need more time. (I suggest catching up on TiVo while you do this.) I took the business side of a sponge to my nails and redipped after scrubbing. I found that this seriously boosted my results.

You can complete this mini treatment by gently buffing them with my favorite buff block – I’ve seen it in the $1 travel section at Target! – and slathering them in olive or cuticle oil.

See?! They look almost as good as they did before you started wearing nail polish. Almost.

Does anyone have any easy beauty fixes like this one? I’d love to hear about them in the comments!

Leave a Reply

