Essie Lilacism

11 Oct

Hi readers! I hope you had a great holiday weekend. I did for sure! I went down to Roanoke, VA to be in the wedding of one of my best friends, Leah – and she had me do her makeup! I can’t wait t0 see the pictures the photographer took.

I picked out the nail polish for all of the bridesmaids – Leah asked me to pick up some light purple pashminas and matching nail polish for the bridal party, and Essie Lilacism turned out to be a perfect match to the pashminas.

Essie Lilacism nail polish

Essie Lilacism nail polish

I’ve had Lilacism since it came out in spring 2010, and they have since improved the formula. I might have to buy a new bottle because the one I have is completely awful to deal with – terribly streaky and takes at least five coats to reach opacity. However, the other girls got their nails done, and their nail techs said that their bottles were lovely and had a great, creamy formula, taking only two coats. Here’s all of our hands together (and Leah’s, who got OPI‘s Mimosas for Mr. and Mrs.). Apologies for blurriness!

Bride and bridesmaid hands! Essie Lilacism and OPI Mimosas for Mr. and Mrs.

Bride and bridesmaid hands! Essie Lilacism and OPI Mimosas for Mr. and Mrs.

And here’s the back of my head – I got my hair curled by Cathy at Plaza 101 and she did a great job!

My hair for Leah's wedding

My hair for Leah's wedding, courtesy of Cathy of Plaza 101 (Roanoke, VA)

More pictures from the wedding, etc. as I get them! It was truly beautiful (and went by so fast!) and I was honored to be a part of it. I cried all over the place and was teased like you wouldn’t believe

You can find Essie Lilacism pretty easily, including here at drugstore.com, and at many local drugstores.

What did you do this weekend?

6 Responses to “Essie Lilacism”

  1. Agatha Wells (@Tygrlylie) October 11, 2011 at 10:32 PM #

    Love reading your entries…I appreciate that you inventory when and where you bought each item, like some kind of Amazon order history. Lol.

    I can’t wait to see pics of Leah’s wedding!! The nail polish color is lovely and I may use that as a tip for a wedding I’m in next spring–our dresses are also lilac! Although the shade may be just different enough that we’ll have to hem and haw a bit before we find a matching one: http://www.davidsbridal.com/Product_Vintage-Style-Satin-Wide-Strap-Tea-Length-Dress-F14556_Bridal-Party-Bridesmaids-Shop-By-Color#BVRRWidgetID. I think you have to click the last little color swatch icon to see the dress in lilac.

    I am excited for this color because I love how vibrant my red hair looks against any shade of purple. Also, I love Orly nail polish as well–my mom recently became obsessed with it and bought me three bottles in Ancient Jade, Gilded Coral, and Rock Candy, just cuz. Thanks ma.

    • makeup maestra October 11, 2011 at 10:45 PM #

      aggie! thanks for stopping by! yeah…i have way too much stuff and it’s crazy that i can mostly remember when i bought all of it. womp. i bet orly ancient jade looks awesome on you!!! and it looks like i need rock candy. sigh. how great is their formula?! they have another fall collection coming out. i just called my local sally hansen and they said it’s coming out in november, so keep an eye open.

      i just checked out that picture and that dress swatch looks (a) like it will be super with your hair and (b) like it could be a match for butter london’s polish in scoundrel. i’d have to see both in person at once, but check ’em out. let me know what you think! http://www.butterlondon.com/lacquers/grid you can find swatches here on all lacquered up!

      gahh leah looked so pretty! did you see the few pictures up on facebook? i’m enthralled. there should be more up soon 🙂

  2. Monique October 12, 2011 at 12:12 AM #

    What a beautiful shade!! In other beauty tips, I used a fine-point marker to enhance lackluster eyelashes on my new license.

    • makeup maestra October 13, 2011 at 12:33 PM #

      ha! that reminds me of when our classmates used to borrow prismacolor pencils from art class for other ID-related activity. i’d like to see how this looks!

  3. Derek Bixby October 12, 2011 at 8:46 PM #

    Your hair looks pretty awesome in that pic. Your friend is lucky to have you to help out with her big day! Your knowledge about this stuff seems encyclopedic. Hope you had fun at the wedding! I’m on wedding overload lately. Been to so many… it’s always much more fun to be in them though.

    • makeup maestra October 13, 2011 at 12:35 PM #

      i’m just glad i didn’t have to do the hair myself – that kind of thing always takes me at least an hour. thanks, derek! i did – it just went by so quickly! i can’t wait to see more pictures.

Leave a comment