Essie Brooch the Subject

19 Oct

My nails and I don’t really like to play by the rules, but sometimes, you have to behave yourself. I recently had a business meeting and I wasn’t totally sure if it’d be okay to let my personality shine through on my fingertips, so I decided to play it safe with a member of Essie‘s Winter 2011 collection, Brooch the Subject.

Essie Brooch the Subject nail polish

Essie Brooch the Subject nail polish

I like this color! I didn’t expect to as I was applying it, as it’s not an identical match for my skintone (this picture makes it seem a little closer than it actually is), but it’s just the right nude: doesn’t make my skin look sickly or red at all – it’s actually quite flattering!

Pros: Flattering shade, if it’s close in color to your skintone, it’ll make your fingers look long and thin – just like a pair of nude pumps! For some reason, I really think Kim Kardashian would like this nail polish. Not sure why.

Cons: I had a lot of trouble with application with this shade. It was much thicker and gloppier than I’m accustomed to with Essie, which was disappointing. It took three aggravating coats. I didn’t apply a top coat and I have a small chip after three days – but that’s my fault.

What do you think? Will you be picking this one up, or any of the others from the Essie Winter 2011 collection? It’s hard to find online at present, but should be available in many of your local salons and Essie retailers soon!

2 Responses to “Essie Brooch the Subject”

  1. Kate Stocker October 22, 2011 at 12:54 PM #

    Yay! That was one of the colors I got you, glad you were able to use it for your business meeting!!

  2. Sara November 8, 2011 at 8:56 PM #

    any increased traffic you see is largely due to me checking to see if your halloween costume pics are loaded yet!

Leave a Reply

