Essie School of Hard Rocks

18 Nov

As Kermit says, it’s not easy being green.

He’s right.

I’ve always found that it’s a lot easier being teal.

Essie School of Hard Rocks

Essie School of Hard Rocks nail polish

Not unlike its holiday collection compatriate, Essie‘s School of Hard Rocks is gemstone themed, but I like this group of polish’s interesting twist on bling. There was only one red and the rest of the shades were all muted. A more refined way to bring on the holiday cheer, perhaps? I’m surprised – I see teal as more of a fall color than winter, but the rest of the shades in the collection definitely transition well between both seasons. Either way, while the color was enjoyable…

Essie School of Hard Rocks

Essie School of Hard Rocks nail polish close up

It was not easy to photograph, due to NYC’s icky weather as of late! This second picture is more accurate. This is definitely a dusty teal shade, almost a blue sage, if that makes any sense to you.

Pros: Definitely a unique shade in my collection. As I acquire more teals, I still don’t have any like this! The dry time was also pretty solid on this one.

Cons: I hate the Essie brush. It doesn’t aid in application at all – every time I use Essie after using OPI, Orly or China Glaze, I think there’s something wrong with the polish. There isn’t – it’s the brush!

Grab it before it’s gone – it’s limited edition! Your local drugstore should have it, or you can find it here on Nordstrom‘s website. Have you tried this one? How do you feel about teal?

2 Responses to “Essie School of Hard Rocks”

  1. Derek B. November 18, 2011 at 2:39 PM #

    I like this one. It’s really different. I liked the last one that you had from this brand too. I’d suggest it to people if I didn’t think I’d get funny looks for being a guy suggesting a nail color to someone. 😛 So, how often on average do you apply a different shade of nail polish? That must be a lot of work!

    • makeup maestra November 18, 2011 at 11:14 PM #

      as always, thanks for your comments, derek! 🙂

      to be honest, how often i change my polish varies. it depends on how well my manicure is keeping up, how busy i am, and how bored i am of the color i have on. i don’t tolerate chipped nails on my own fingers, so i will change if one appears. otherwise, if it’s holding up well and/or i’m busy, i’ll leave the same shade on for five to seven days. if i’m bored, four.

      finally, it actually only takes fifteen to twenty minutes for me to do my nails – so i can get some quality tv time in while slapping on a fresh coat of paint! 🙂

Leave a Reply

