Sally Hansen Complete Salon Manicure in Shiny Penny

24 Nov

Happy Thanksgiving, readers! I’ve been putting off posting because the weather (and sunlight) have been absolutely abysmal here in New York, but the sun has finally poked its head out just in time for me to post on one of the best American holidays of the year.

Today I have for you a very seasonally-appropriate shade of bronze, Sally Hansen Complete Salon Manicure in Shiny Penny. This shade was a collaboration with designer Tracy Reese for New York Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week this fall.

Sally Hansen Complete Salon Manicure in Shiny Penny

Sally Hansen Complete Salon Manicure in Shiny Penny

I showed it to a friend, who said, “I love that! It reminds me of a shiny penny!” I laughed and said, “Good, because that’s actually the name.” I have to say, it’s not often that colors are so accurately named. (To be honest, this shade reminds me more of copper tubing, but that is by no means a charming name for a nail polish.)

Sally Hansen Complete Salon Manicure in Shiny Penny

Sally Hansen Complete Salon Manicure in Shiny Penny

Pros: This is two coats – if I had applied thickly, and at the cost of dry time, I might have been able to get away with one. This is also into several days of wear, treating my hands pretty roughly. And let us not forget the fabulous Sally Hansen CSM brush.

Cons: Some metallics have brush stroke issues. If this polish had a different kind of brush, brush strokes would be extremely noticeable. There are minor flaws with this one. Not enough to keep me from wearing it!

I found mine at my local Duane Reade on a counter display. I picked it up about a month ago, but I’ve been seeing it for a while now – it seems to be the least popular color. Not sure why – it’s a beauty! (Say that in an Australian accent.)

Enjoy the day, readers, no matter who you’re spending it with.

One Response to “Sally Hansen Complete Salon Manicure in Shiny Penny”

  1. Monique November 27, 2011 at 1:15 AM #

    Amazing that it actually looks like the name! I wonder how many polishes have names that one could guess by sight.

Leave a Reply

