Sally Hansen Complete Salon Manicure – Silver Lining and Sephora by OPI – Too Good for Him

25 Aug

This hurricane that’s coming toward NYC means that it’s been cloudy and drizzly all day, which makes the weather neither mood-lifting nor good for taking pictures. Since my Revlon Blue Lagoon manicure chipped after just two days of wear, I had to change up my polish. I decided to go with something weather-related, but added a little something extra to boost my spirits.

Sally Hansen Complete Salon Manicure in Silver Lining, Sephora by OPI Too Good for Him (Ring finger and thumb only)

Sally Hansen Complete Salon Manicure in Silver Lining, Sephora by OPI Too Good for Him (ring finger and thumb only)

Sally Hansen Complete Salon Manicure‘s Silver Lining is a limited edition product from last spring.

Pros: I love the Sally Hansen CSM brushes, and I’m often pleasantly surprised by how innovative and trendy their colors are – especially the limited editions. This is an absolutely gorgeous shade – a shimmery, iridescent silver with a blue/green cast. It didn’t take too long to dry, which was particularly important during this application process…

Cons: This is four coats, which is a little annoying (though I once had the amazing patience to do seven coats for an Essie color I love). Only because of the application am I not too saddened that it’s no longer available.

Sephora by OPI Too Good for Him

Sephora by OPI Too Good for Him closeup

As you can see, I added a glitter topcoat on my thumbs (“Blackberry Bling”) and ring fingers. I was able to gradate the glitter on my thumbs, but the nails on my ring fingers turned out to be too tiny for it to work out! This color is Sephora by OPI‘s Too Good for Him, which was a limited edition color for New Year’s 2009/2010.

Pros: The color! It’s a predominantly fuchsia glitter with blue and silver glitter mixed in to a clear base. (I’d say 4 parts fuchsia, 2 parts blue, 1 part silver.)

Cons: Dry time sucked, as it often does with glitter top coats  – I’m just sitting here with Seche on top waiting for it to do some magic – but regardless, it’s still a great shade, which is why I’m bummed that it was a holiday exclusive. It also had a little bit of a shrinkage (pulled away from the tip of the nail) issue. However, SOPI still has some great glitter topcoats out that are fabulous, inexpensive alternatives to Deborah Lippmann polishes, and I recommend you check them out.

This was a fun manicure to do – despite the dry time issues with the glitter and the number of coats needed for the shimmer, I’d do it again!

What do you guys think? A little much for a weekday? Do you have either of these?

Leave a comment